Escape and Drop Mental Traps
The Ryan Nagy Show
Feldenkrais And The End Of Secrets (Redux)
0:00
-8:56

Feldenkrais And The End Of Secrets (Redux)

An audio version of my substack post The End Of Secrets - expanded and deepened for Feldenkrais with a bit of historical context.

Remember the tagline of this podcast is “power literacy and awareness.” Beginning to orient to and understand power in organizations requires one to look at facts, ideas, and narratives that can make one uncomfortable. If someone is uncomfortable with the ideas - no worries, no judgment. It only takes a click to unsubscribe.

Transcript

(00:00):

Feldenkrais, Somatics, and the end of secrets and the creation of new mythologies.

(00:07):

My name is Ryan Nagy This audio is based on a post from my Substack account http://ryannagy.substack.com. Please go there and sign up for a paid or free subscription if you'd like to know more.

(00:24):

My question is, what will happen to our world, our institutions, our professions, our professional organizations when we enter a world of no secrets? When every founding myth, every narrative, and every story is not only subject to verification but forced into verification.

(00:45):

What happens when historical details that were once hidden are available for everyone to see? Though realistically, they will be available only to those who want to see only those who can develop the courage and the safety within themselves to see a different reality.

(01:07):

So what are the options and how will we adapt? What current institutions will survive if any? What will take the place of those that fail? What new mythologies will we create? What new forms of human interaction and organization? Will we pass through a phase of increasing violence as it seems we are now, uh, in the larger culture, or can change come peacefully?

(01:34):

Obviously, I think time and our actions and understandings will tell us. I personally find it a bit scary at times and also exciting. But the thing is, the changes are here. It doesn't matter if we like them or not, doesn't matter if we like that, that time change is happening faster.

(01:52):

We live in a time of increasingly fast change. The thing is, it is not simply that our worlds are changing, it's that the world has already changed. So the world that we have built up over our personal lifetimes, or if we're gonna talk about my or your professional context, if you want to think of somatics or Feldenkrais as a professional context, I don't, but people wanna put it out there as being a profession. So the world that we have built up over our professional lifetimes, it doesn't completely exist anymore. And in fact, we could say that it perhaps never existed.

(02:30):

For example, people in the Feldenkrais Guild system, 40 years after Moshe Feldenkrais died, will say something will happen. They'll say, well, this is what Moshe wanted. Moshe wanted a strong guild to protect his work. And then you find out later, uh, some alternate, uh, history that maybe the the people that created the guild, well, uh, they took over after Moshe died, they called themselves trainers, but they had never actually trained anybody. Or that Moshe in the final months of his life was, was pulling himself away from the guild.

(02:58):

He `wasn't, interested in the Guild. We can talk about a professional organization being somehow about maturity, awareness, independence. If you know what you're doing, you can do what you want to restore its person through human dignity. And then you find out that, well, the founder of the organization was sued for having inappropriate - what is alleged to be inappropriate sexual relationships with one of his students. Or that several of his students have been accused of, uh, uh, rape or have been accused of having violent sexual relationships with students or bullying people.

(03:30):

And so people will say, okay, I feel, you know, I did these wonderful Feldenkrais sessions. I love them. They feel great. Oh, isn't amazing, and they found out that the person that taught them that isn't perhaps as mature and aware as he or she presents them to, to be. And then it can create cognitive dissonance, which is why often you'll hear people say, oh, that Ryan Nagy guy, we won't, we won't talk about him in this training program.

(03:56):

Oh, no, no, don't go to his blog. Right? Because the official narrative doesn't quite fit with the unofficial narrative, the actual facts of what happened. Or worse they completely contradict and then people have a hard time dealing with it.

(04:12):

Does that make sense?

(04:13):

So that is why the name of this sub is called at least Subtitled "Power Literacy and Awareness".

(04:22):

Who has power in an organization, who has financial power, who has emotional power, intellectual power, and psychological power? How does people's use of power, how do people's need for power affect your development as an individual, as a person, as a personality?

(04:39):

THAT'S what I'm talking about here and writing on substack. I appreciate those of you who are here and listening. And I am now doing audios and will soon be adding videos for several reasons. One of which it's much easier and more fluid for me to speak.

(05:02):

And another reason is, I've had friends who I've known each other for years will read one of my posts and say, oh, Ryan, you know that it had, had your post had such an angry, aggressive tone, or, don't talk about this and don't talk about that.

(05:16):

And look, I'm here to tell you that if you or somebody else doesn't want to hear this, that's totally fine. You don't have to listen, you don't have to subscribe. But if someone doesn't wanna know about allegations of abuse in the Feldenkrais Guild community if someone doesn't want to know about, you know, good and bad things about the Feldenkrais Guild, good and bad things about Moshe Feldenkrais, they don't have to, again, they don't have to listen.

(05:42):

So for someone to say, Ryan, I don't like what you're saying, I don't like what you're doing, stop doing it, uh, is a little bit ridiculous. Okay? If someone doesn't like this topic, they don't have to come here, that's fine. I'm not gonna judge anyone for not wanting to listen to these things.

(05:59):

I have essentially an off-the-chart optimistic view of the future. And interestingly enough, in my emails over at http://ryannagy.com/emails, if you're on my email list, it's fascinating cuz when I express things really positive, I occasionally get people that will unsubscribe and get angry cuz they have, you know, at some level they think the world's going to hell in a hand basket.

(06:24):

And at some level, the world is going to hell in a handbasket, but the world has always been going to hell in a handbasket. Um, but there are groups of people that are changing and changing fast, and we are adapting faster than most people realize. And so I think that there is a reason to be hopeful, and I do act positively in the world, and I do engage the world in the best way that I can.

(06:51):

And I do not think we always need to go back and take these kind of trips to the museum. Like I'm talking about sometimes talking about things that happened 20 to 30 years ago or just a few years ago in terms of some abuse allegations.

(07:03):

But if we can, if we can use what has happened to make a better future, I think we need to do that. Or at least I need to do that. And the people that want to come along with me can do that if they want to. So again, that's why I'm here.

(07:20):

Stay tuned for more and please consider, uh, activating a paid subscription to get access to my growing archive of articles here or where I'm originally according to this at ryannay.substack.com.

(07:32):

You know, <laugh>, I'm currently living relatively low-cost and low-rent life here in southern Mexico. Uh, but that's not gonna continue.

(07:39):

Uh, I, you know, I, I would love to write and publish everything for free, but hey, Las, I'm not financially independent just yet. So every paid subscription makes a positive contribution to my life and gives me more time and resources to keep publishing.

(07:53):

Okay, I hope all that made sense. I'm doing this relatively free form, for now, to get the material out there, like subscribe. If you are new to Feldenkrais go to ryannagy.com/email and I have a series of five short Feldenkrais sessions that I will send you and you can try this stuff on for yourself. I love Feldenkrais. I think it's wonderful.

(08:16):

But remember, your experience at an individual level is different than other people's experiences at an individual level. And groups of people acting together are different than a person acting individually. That is groups of people in an organization and a corporation and a tribe and a religion. There are different properties, we have different properties of interacting. So whatever you have and do that is positive that you love, hold onto that. It's dear to you. Use it. Make the world a better place, and I will see you in the next episode. Peace.

0 Comments
Escape and Drop Mental Traps
The Ryan Nagy Show
Welcome to the Ryan Nagy Show, the Power Literacy Podcast of Ryan C. Nagy. Language, Somatics. Feldenkrais-based sessions, body scans, meditation, and commentary. Nothing is off-limits here. Drop the myths. Create a Life of Freedom Freedom on your terms and as you choose, create the life that YOU want to live. Power Literacy. Emergence. Social Dynamics: Find the hidden meanings and create the best one for you. Drop the false narratives and create a life of freedom. Feldenkrais, Somatics, and Embodiment matter. And so does social awareness and history and speaking your truth.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Ryan Nagy